Board of Directors

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m. (Wednesdays) and 7:30 a.m. (Fridays)
  • The second Board Meeting is the second Friday following the week of the Wednesday Board Meeting, except in November.
  • District main office
    26111 Antonio Parkway
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Justin McCusker

Justin McCusker


Term 2014 to 2018

Saundra Jacobs

Saundra F. Jacobs

Vice-President and Engineering and Operations Committee Chair

Term 2014 to 2018

Betty Olson

Betty H. Olson, Ph. D.

Director and Water Quality and Innovation Committee Chair

Term 2016-2020

Charley Wilson

Charley Wilson


Term 2016-2020

Charles Gibson

Charles T. Gibson

Director and Finance and Administration Committee Chair

Term 2016 to 2020


SMWD is governed by a five-member Board of Directors elected by residents within the District’s boundaries. These five elected officials are responsible for District policies and decision making on a large range of issues. The Board's policies are administered and implemented by the General Manager, who is appointed by the Board.

Public elections are held every two years and Directors serve four year terms (for information on elections please visit the Orange County Registrar of Voters). Director terms are staggered to ensure continuity.  Appointments to the Board are made as necessitated by a resignation or other incidental vacating of a Board seat. The Board may make an appointment to fill the vacancy, call a special election, or defer to the County subject to law.